Rees Scholarship Foundation Awards $55,000 to Aid Aspiring HVACR Technicians

January 18, 2017
Carrie Johnson, Director, Communications
Direct: 703.600.0377

Arlington, Va. — The Clifford H. "Ted" Rees, Jr. Scholarship Foundation, a 501(c)(3) charitable foundation of the Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI), and the Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA), today announced scholarship awards totaling $55,000 to 35 students, including six veterans, studying to become technicians in the HVACR and water heating industry.

"We are pleased to award scholarships to these qualified and dedicated students and veterans, and hope to eventually welcome them into the industry," said AHRI President and CEO Stephen Yurek. "Each year, the Foundation provides aid to an increasing number of recipients, helping to promote careers in the industry and fill good-paying jobs that cannot be outsourced."

"Developing quality workers is a critical initiative that everyone in our industry is working together to accomplish," said ACCA President and CEO Paul T. Stalknecht. "We are proud to partner with the Rees Scholarship Foundation and AHRI to give these hard-working students and veterans scholarships to help them continue their education, which will develop into a strong workforce for our industry's future."

HVACR and Water Heating Technician Program Recipients:
Leopoldo Avila, Brownson Technical School (Anaheim, Calif.)
Andrew Boeger, Blackhawk Technical College (Janesville, Wisc.)
Gabriel Botteselle, Brownson Technical School (Anaheim, Calif.)
Jacob Colby, Manchester Community College (Manchester, Conn.)
Dillon Daigle, Tulsa Technology (Tulsa, Okla.)
Adam Davis, Intercoast College (Rancho Cordova, Calif.)
Joshua Enciso Trevino, Brownson Technical School (Anaheim, Calif.)
Johnnie Estes, Great Oaks - Diamond Oaks (Cincinnati, Ohio)
Michael Falcon, Brownson Technical School (Anaheim, Calif.)
Heather Gimble, College of the Desert (Palm Desert, Calif.)
Steven Harlow, Triangle Tech (Pittsburgh, Pa.)
Daniel Jackson, Bevill State Community College (Sumiton, Ala.)
Scott Johnson, Front Range Community College (Westminster, Colo.)
John Laucella, Fortis College (Norfolk, Va.)
John Leija, Vernon College (Vernon, Texas)
Ethan Lietz, Ferris State University (Big Rapids, Mich.)
Leo Mooney, Moore Norman Technology Center (Norman, Okla.)
Michael Moore, Galveston College (Galveston, Texas)
Troy Morgan, Washburn Tech (Topeka, Kan.)
Noel Njoku, Prince George's Community College (Upper Marlboro, Md.)
Nathan Pawley, OSU Institute of Technology (Okmulgee, Okla.)
Michael Reyes Gomez, College of the Desert (Palm Desert, Calif.)
Drew Miles Russell Scott, InterCoast College (Roseville, Calif.)
Joseph De Santiago, Southwestern Oklahoma State University (Weatherford, Okla.)
David Savard, Washburn Tech (Topeka, Kan.)
Michael Sullivan, Dunwoody College of Technology (Minneapolis, Minn.)
Alexander Thomas, Brownson Technical School (Anaheim, Calif.)
Mary Volz, University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton (Morrilton, Ark.)

Veterans Program Recipients:
Junior Aristhilde, Sheridan Technical School (Hollywood, Fla.)
Jarred Gordon, Refrigeration School, Inc. (Phoenix, Ariz.)
Herman Marques, Houston Community College (Houston, Texas)
Frank Moore, Kilgore College (Kilgore, Texas)
Kenneth Weeks, Fayetteville Technical College (Fayetteville, N.C.)
Arturo Zamudio, San Joaquin Valley College (Temecula, Calif.)

Since its founding in 2003, the Rees Scholarship Foundation has awarded more than $550,000 in scholarships to 330 deserving students and instructors. For a list of past scholarship recipients, click here.

About the Rees Scholarship Foundation

The Clifford H. "Ted" Rees, Jr. Scholarship Foundation was established to assist with the recruitment and competency of future HVACR and water heating technicians by awarding scholarships to qualified students enrolled in an institutionally accredited school. Eligible students must be preparing for a career in either residential or light commercial air conditioning, heating, or water heating, or commercial refrigeration.

About AHRI

The Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) is the trade association representing manufacturers of air conditioning, heating, and commercial refrigeration, and water heating equipment. An internationally recognized advocate for the industry, AHRI develops standards for and certifies the performance of many of these products. AHRI's 300+ member companies manufacture quality, efficient, and innovative residential and commercial air conditioning, space heating, water heating, and commercial refrigeration equipment and components for sale in North America and around the world.

About ACCA

Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA) is a non-profit association serving more than 60,000 professionals and 4,000 businesses in the indoor environment and energy services community. Its member firms are the nation's most professional contracting businesses, serving residential and commercial customers in every state. With roots stretching back a century, ACCA was incorporated in its present form nearly 50 years ago. Today, ACCA sets the standards for quality comfort systems, provides leading-edge education for contractors and their employees, and fights for the interests of professional contractors throughout the nation.




Monthly Shipping Releases

AHRI’s monthly report of combined U.S. manufactured shipments of central air conditioning, air-source heat pumps systems, gas and oil furnaces, and gas and electric tank water heaters available here.

> Subscribe here