Rees Scholarship Foundation Awards $58,200 to Aid Aspiring HVACR Technicians and SkillsUSA Championship Winners

August 29, 2017
Monica Cardenas, Director, Communications
Direct: 703.600.0388

Arlington, Va. — The Clifford H. "Ted" Rees, Jr. Scholarship Foundation, a 501(c)(3) charitable foundation of the Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI), and the Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA), today announced scholarship awards totaling $58,200 to 36 students, including two veterans, studying to become technicians in the HVACR and water heating industry.

"We are pleased to award scholarships to these qualified and dedicated students and veterans, and hope to eventually welcome them into the industry," said AHRI President and CEO Stephen Yurek. "Each year, the Foundation provides aid to an increasing number of recipients, helping to promote careers in the industry and fill good-paying jobs that cannot be outsourced."

"Developing quality workers is a critical initiative that everyone in our industry is working together to accomplish," said ACCA President and CEO Paul T. Stalknecht. "We are proud to partner with the Rees Scholarship Foundation and AHRI to give these hard-working students and veterans scholarships to help them continue their education, which will develop into a strong workforce for our industry's future."

HVACR and Water Heating Technician Program Recipients:
Chandler Accardo, ITI, (Baton Rouge, La.)
Jorge Angulo, Front Range Community College (Fort Collins, Colo.)
Cameo Banks, Front Range Community College (Fort Collins, Colo.)
Mehran Beheshti, Intercoast College (Rancho Cordova, Calif.)
Duraunte Colly, Intercoast College (Rancho Cordova, Calif.)
Eugene Crutcher, Moore Tech (Memphis, Tenn.)
Karin Dahlin, Minneapolis Community and Technical College (Minneapolis, Minn.)
Heath Dixon, Northwest Shoals Community College (Muscles Shoals, Ala.)
Timothy Dunegan, Green Country Technology Center (Okmulgee, Okla.)
John Gisonna, Penn College of Technology (Williamsport, Pa.)
Justin Heavner, MIAT College of Technology (Canton, Miss.)
Doug Ingersoll, Illinois Central College (East Peoria, Ill.)
Dylan Jackson, Ferris State University (Big Rapids, Mich.)
Richard Karimi-Hosseini, Brownson Technical School (Anaheim, Calif.)
Kristen Kimmel, LoneStar College-North Harris (Houston, Texas)
Benjamin Mayfield, Bevill State Community College (Sumiton, Ala.)
Steve McDonald, Ivy Tech (Lafayette, Ind.)
Tristan Nairmore, Bevill State Community College (Hamilton, Ala.)
Samuel Ocampo Martinez, Minneapolis Community & Technical College (Minneapolis, Minn.)
Doug Olson, Des Moines Area Community College, (Ankeny, Iowa)
Alexander Pitts, Intercoast College (Fairfield, Calif.)
Adam Reynolds, InterCoast College (Sacramento, Calif.)
Austin Reynolds, Pennsylvania School of Technology (Williamsport, Pa.)
Domingo Rodriguez, Intercoast (Sacramento, Calif.)
Jamison Sholander, Ferris State University (Big Rapids, Mich.)
Carmica Ussery, J.F Drake State Community and Technical (Huntsville, Ala.)
Andre Wilson, Galveston College Applied Technology Center (Galveston, Texas)
Daniel Wipf, DMACC (Ankeny, Iowa)

Veterans Program Recipients:
Christopher Oja, Ferris State University (Big Rapids, Mich.)
Shilo Tharp, Des Moines Area Community College (Ankeny, Iowa)

SkillsUSA Program Recipients:
Michael Cain, Ferris State University (Big Rapids, Mich.)
Blaine Feeler, State Technical College of Missouri (Linn, Mo.)
Raymond Leidinger, Lamar Institute of Technology (Beaumont, Texas)
Matthew Peterson, Des Moines Area Community College (Ankeny, Iowa)
Steven Steward, The Refrigeration School, (Phoenix, Ariz.)
Ethan Tucker, Red River Technology Center (Duncan, Okla.)

Since the Rees Scholarship Foundation was founded in 2003, it has awarded more than $500,000 in scholarships to nearly 300 deserving students and instructors. For a list of past scholarship recipients, click here.

About the Rees Scholarship Foundation

The Clifford H. "Ted" Rees, Jr. Scholarship Foundation was established to assist with the recruitment and competency of future HVACR and water heating technicians by awarding scholarships to qualified students enrolled in an institutionally accredited school. Eligible students must be preparing for a career in either residential or light commercial air conditioning, heating, or water heating, or commercial refrigeration.

About AHRI

The Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) is the trade association representing manufacturers of air conditioning, heating, commercial refrigeration, and water heating equipment. An internationally recognized advocate for the industry, AHRI develops standards for and certifies the performance of many of these products. AHRI's 300+ member companies manufacture quality, efficient, and innovative residential and commercial air conditioning, space heating, water heating, and commercial refrigeration equipment and components for sale in North America and around the world.

About ACCA

Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA) is a non-profit association serving more than 60,000 professionals and 4,000 businesses in the indoor environment and energy services community. Its member firms are the nation's most professional contracting businesses, serving residential and commercial customers in every state. With roots stretching back a century, ACCA was incorporated in its present form nearly 50 years ago. Today, ACCA sets the standards for quality comfort systems, provides leading-edge education for contractors and their employees, and fights for the interests of professional contractors throughout the nation.




Monthly Shipping Releases

AHRI’s monthly report of combined U.S. manufactured shipments of central air conditioning, air-source heat pumps systems, gas and oil furnaces, and gas and electric tank water heaters available here.

> Subscribe here